‘Springing’ up the dining room … a very quick DIY

We have been blessed with unseasonably warm weather the last few days which led to a few hours of ‘outside time’ - sitting on the deck, bird watching and drinking coffee. In the mornings, however, when it was still a little chilly, I decided it was time to brighten up indoors.

This is our dining room during the Christmas holiday. While the decorations had been removed, the red plaid table cloth - and not much else - remained.

December 2014 002.JPG

I decided I needed some new life in the dining room - which required a little shopping. Of course, my goal is always to buy on sale.

First I went to Pier 1 and found a linen-like table runner on sale. I love the neutral color because it can be used with many things.

Next, I found a tablecloth on clearance at Target along with a matching place mat - also on clearance.

I put the table runner on the table cloth, put the place mat in the center, and added a bowl of decorative easter eggs (bought on clearance after Easter last year). Here’s the result …

025.JPG

026.JPG

The table looks even better, however, when you add a couple of grandkids

001.JPG

 
8
Kudos
 
8
Kudos

Now read this

What to do … a gift for everyone

It’s that time of year - time to find a gift for all of those on your Christmas list. And it seems that it gets harder every year - to find that perfect gift for each and everyone. How do you find something for those who already have too... Continue →