A slice of Texas … part 1

Last week my daughter and I took a five-day trip to Texas to visit cousin Laura and family. I have to say this trip was probably the most relaxing yet interesting trip that I have taken in years. But, having taken more than 500 photos, I have a lot of material to wade through …

We arrived at Laura’s house in Keller, Texas about noon on Sunday - with the temperature in the 70’s (much unlike Minnesota). Keller is a beautiful north suburb of Fort Worth with a population of about 43,000.

The first thing I saw as I entered the guest bedroom is shown below - a custom sewn apron as a birthday gift for me and aptly titled “The Carolyn.” What a wonderful welcome. And, as Laura would say, “You must always check the pockets,” for there to find more gifts.

Trip to Laura's 021.JPG

As you can see, the guest bedroom is very peaceful - perfect for long-sought nights of restful sleep.

Trip to Laura's 358.JPG
And in the kitchen, my favorite flowers …

Trip to Laura's 026.JPG

And what better to great guests than Rudi and Franz! Our most recent dachshund passed away last March, so Rudi and Franz were both very pleasant reminders of her. (And, yes, I think we will soon have another.)

Rudi and Franz.jpg

After a delicious lunch of tortellinni soup, (Yes, Laura spoiled us with her fine cooking) we decided to go for a walk at a very nice local park. Still adjusting to the change in altitude and temperature, and living with a lung disease, I brought up the rear - along with Rudi, who like me, gets winded. I must add, however, that I walked a lot during this trip - as you will see in future posts - and actually did quite well. It must have been the companions I was with.

Trip to Laura's 008.JPG

While walking in the park, we came upon this interesting sculpture by Frederic Augusta Bartholdi. Can you guess what it is?

Trip to Laura's 017.JPG

This plaque provides information on the sculpture.
Trip to Laura's 012.JPG

And, this is what you see when you look through the viewer. Did you guess correctly?
Trip to Laura's 009.JPG

During the trip, we spent our evenings enjoying amazing food and visiting … sharing stories and learning about one another. It doesn’t get any better.

But, hang on … there’s much more. My next blog - visiting Southfork Ranch, the setting of the 1978-1991 television series Dallas.

Trip to Laura's 036.JPG

 
6
Kudos
 
6
Kudos

Now read this

Am I losing it?

Lately I have found myself forgetting things on a regular basis – forgetting to take my daily medications; intending to take something into the house from my office area and then arriving in the house without it - sometimes remembering I... Continue →