Strange things happen …

Have you ever had an experience that made you wonder how in the world that happened? Let me tell you about an experience I had lately - and see if you think it was a strange happening.

strange_things.jpg
My husband’s jeep had a small dent in the front - near the headlights - from someone backing into him. It was small, so it didn’t matter much - until the headlight burnt out. Then is became a bigger issue because we couldn’t get the headlight out - but we needed to change the light so officers wouldn’t need to stop us to tell us that.

We took the jeep to a body shop in Big Lake, Minnesota - to a friend that does all of our repair work. We’ve been there many times before. My husband drove the jeep and I drove my vehicle so I could pick him up. All the way to Big Lake, I kept thinking that he would want to go to the Lake Cafe in Big Lake. He usually wants to go there if he gets close. In addition, however, I kept thinking it would be nice if we would happen to see my sister-in-law; we rarely see her since my brother passed away. In fact, we hadn’t seen her in a few years and had no idea what was going on in her life. I only knew that she lived in Big Lake.

lake-cafe-w.jpg
As I had anticipated, my husband wanted to go to the Lake Cafe for breakfast. When we arrived there were only a few people in the cafe. We ordered and were sitting there, drinking coffee. I caught a glance of a woman who came in and sat down in the first booth, right by the entrance. We chatted a little with the waitress and - out of the corner of my eye - I saw this woman looking over at us. I didn’t pay much attention and drank more coffee. (Those of you who know me know that there can never be enough coffee,) Then, once again, I caught a glance of her looking at me. This time I looked a little harder - and to my amazement - I realized it was my sister-in-law. I’m sure my mouth was wide open!!

Breakfast took an hour and a half - there was a lot to catch up on. My sister-in-law shared that the only reason she stopped at the restaurant was that her brother’s bus was late so she decided to give him a ride to his school. After that, she decided to treat herself by stopping at the Lake Cafe. What are the chances – That the bus would be late? That she would arrive just after we did? Or, for that matter, that we would even connect? Do wishes come true? Or was the universe making that connection? You decide … all I know is that I am truly grateful that the stars lined up that morning.

 
10
Kudos
 
10
Kudos

Now read this

What to do … a gift for everyone

It’s that time of year - time to find a gift for all of those on your Christmas list. And it seems that it gets harder every year - to find that perfect gift for each and everyone. How do you find something for those who already have too... Continue →